Platform comparison

SprintUp Education
vs Canvas LMS

Canvas is an institutional learning management system, sold by quote to districts, universities and large organisations, with its free-for-teacher accounts now closed to new registrations. SprintUp is a school platform with published prices for independent schools, language schools and tutoring centres. They rarely compete for the same buyer; this page is about working out which one you are.

Canvas LMS

A learning management system from Instructure for K-12 districts, higher education, and business and government, as its product page describes its customers. Prices are not published: the calls to action lead to a demo request. Instructure states it is "no longer registering new Free-for-Teacher" accounts. Its product page does not state payments, a school website, live video, AI tools, a marketplace or a data-hosting region, and we make no claim about those either way; Canvas is a large product and much of it lives beyond the page we can cite.

SprintUp Education

A school platform for independent schools, language schools and tutoring centres: campus, classes, live video, student portal, AI curriculum tools, school websites, enrolment, payments and a curriculum marketplace, with one student record underneath. Published prices: free for one educator and ten students; Pro €29 a month; Academy €99 a month for the first 25 active students, €4 each to 100 and €3 beyond, with unlimited teachers. Students pay you through Stripe and SprintUp takes 0%. Data is held in the EU under GDPR by an Irish company.

Feature comparison

Side by side

FeatureSprintUp EducationCanvas LMS
PricingPublished — free plan; Pro €29; Academy from €99 per monthNot published — "Get Canvas" leads to a demo request
Free optionYes — one educator, ten students, permanentlyFree-for-Teacher "no longer registering new" accounts
Built forIndependent schools, language schools, tutoring centresK-12 districts, higher education, business and government
Fee on what students pay you0% — standard Stripe fees onlyPayments not stated on product page
Enrolment and paymentsIncluded — Stripe, student portal, enrolment flowNot stated on product page
School websiteIncluded — up to 5 sites on AcademyNot stated on product page
Live video classesIncludedNot stated on product page
AI curriculum toolsIncluded — unlimited on the relax laneNot stated on product page
Curriculum marketplaceYes — creators keep 80%No commercial marketplace stated
TeachersUnlimited on AcademyBy quote
Multi-siteUp to 5 sites on one campus (Academy)Not stated on product page
Data residency / GDPREU data residency, GDPR — Irish companyNot stated on product page

Canvas facts are as shown on instructure.com/canvas and instructure.com/canvas/try-canvas on 23 September 2026. "Not stated on product page" means exactly that; Canvas is a large product and the feature may exist. SprintUp prices exclude VAT; domains sold separately.

Pricing, worked

One column is public, one is a quote

We cannot put a Canvas number beside SprintUp's because Instructure does not publish one, and we will not estimate it. Here is SprintUp's column, and the questions to put to Canvas so that the quote you receive can be compared line by line.

SprintUp, published
  • Free: one educator, ten students, one site — €0, permanently
  • Pro: one educator, fifty students, three sites — €29 a month
  • Academy, 25 active students — €99 a month
  • Academy, 100 active students — €399 a month
  • Academy, 300 active students — €999 a month
  • Unlimited teachers on Academy; 0% on student payments; yearly is ten months
Ask Canvas for
  • The price per student or per user, and the minimum
  • Any implementation, onboarding or training fee
  • Contract length and what a renewal looks like
  • What is not included: video, payments, website, AI
  • Where the data is hosted and the data processing agreement
  • How you export everything if you leave

Read honestly: for the institution Canvas is built for, price is one line in a procurement and the LMS is one system among many. For an independent school, the comparison that matters is total cost of the school's whole operation — enrolment, billing, website, classes — and whether one platform or several will run it.

Key differences

Where SprintUp is the stronger choice

A price you can read before you talk to anyone

SprintUp publishes every plan from free to Academy, with a calculator on the pricing page. Canvas leads to a demo request; the price of a small school is a conversation.

A free plan that is still open

One educator, ten students, live classes, the student portal and unlimited AI generation, permanently. Instructure says it is no longer registering new Free-for-Teacher accounts.

The school around the LMS

Enrolment, payments at 0%, the school website, the student portal and multi-site are part of the platform. An LMS is the teaching layer; SprintUp is the teaching layer plus the operations around it.

Curriculum generation and a marketplace

AI course outlines, lesson plans and quizzes without a meter, and a marketplace where creators keep 80% of sales to other schools. Neither is stated on Canvas's product page.

Where Canvas is the better choice

→

You are a district, a university or a large organisation buying an institution-wide LMS through procurement, with an IT team to run it.

→

Your school is already inside such a contract and the LMS is provided; the question is not which platform, but whether you need one of your own.

→

You need deep LMS capability at institutional scale and have separate systems for enrolment, payments and your website that you intend to keep.

Common questions

SprintUp Education vs Canvas — FAQs

What is the main difference between Canvas and SprintUp?

Scale and scope. Canvas is a learning management system sold to school districts, universities and large organisations, by quote, through a demo and sales process; its product page names K-12, higher education, and business and government as its customers. SprintUp is a school platform for independent schools, language schools and tutoring centres, with published prices from a free plan to per-student Academy, and it covers the parts of running a school that an LMS does not — enrolment, payments, the website and the student portal — alongside classes and live video.

How much does Canvas cost?

Instructure does not publish Canvas prices. Its product page leads to a demo request rather than a price list, and the previous free-for-teacher accounts are, in its own words, "no longer registering new" users. To compare it with SprintUp you will need a quote at your size; ask for the per-student or per-user price, any implementation or training fee, the contract length, and what happens to your data at the end of it. SprintUp's prices are public: free for one educator and ten students; Pro €29 a month; Academy €99 a month for the first 25 active students, €4 each to 100 and €3 beyond.

Is Canvas too complex for a small school?

We are not going to claim implementation times or IT requirements we cannot verify, and the honest answer is that it depends on the school. What we can say is that Canvas is sold to and built for institutions with a procurement process, and that its pricing is a conversation rather than a page. A small school that needs an LMS and has the people to run one may find it excellent. A small school that needs enrolment, billing, a website and classes in one place, run by one administrator, is not the customer Canvas describes on its own site.

Can SprintUp replace Canvas?

For an independent school, a language school or a tutoring centre, usually: SprintUp covers courses, classes, live video, students, enrolment, payments, the website and AI curriculum tools, with one student record underneath. For a university or a district running an institution-wide LMS with existing integrations and an IT team, no — that is Canvas's market, and SprintUp is not built for it.

When is Canvas the better choice?

When you are the institution it is built for: a district, a university or a large organisation with a procurement process, an IT team, systems to integrate and a requirement for an LMS at that scale. Also when your school is already inside such a contract and the LMS is provided. In both cases the question is not Canvas or SprintUp; it is whether you need a school platform at all.

How we compared: to the seven systems in our buyer's guide, using only what each vendor publishes. Canvas facts were taken from instructure.com on 23 September 2026. An earlier version of this page asserted implementation times, contract terms and marketplace details we could not verify; they have been removed. If we have something else wrong, tell us and we will correct it with a note.

A price you can read. A school you can run.

Enrolment, classes, live video, website and payments at 0%, published from free to Academy. Start free with one educator and ten students, or bring your timetable to a demo.